SWANA
Alabama Chapter

The objectives of the Chapter are:

  • to develop increased professionalism in the field of solid waste management;
  • to develop environmentally sound, economically competitive, and effective systems for the storage, collection, transfer and disposal of solid waste;
  • to advance the practice of solid waste reduction, reuse, recycling and composting;
  • to foster the development of viable resource recovery and waste to energy facilities;
  • and to foster a cooperative atmosphere between the public and private sectors of the solid waste management industry through the dissemination of information, continuing education, professional development, and research programs.

Alabama SWANA Board of Directors

Roster 2016/2017

 

President 2017

Mr. Billy Cooch
Geologist
Highland Technical Services, Inc.
528 Mineral Trace
Hoover, AL 35244
Work: (205) 985-4874
Fax: (205) 351-1316
htsi@bellsouth.net

Vice President 2017

Mr. Gerald Hardy
Highland Technical Services, Inc.
528 Mineral Trace
Hoover, AL 35244
Work: (205) 985-4874
Fax: (205) 351-1316
htsi@bellsouth.net 

 

Treasurer 2017

Mr. "Doc" Holladay
Executive Director

Solid Waste Disposal Authority of the City of Huntsville
283 Rucker Street
Anniston, AL 36205
Cell: (334) 328-2218
gerald_hardy@matrixdesigngroup.com

Secretary 2017

Vacant

Past President 2017

Mr. Sammy Dean
Branch Manager, Retired
Thompson Tractor Co.
Post Office Box 1603
Decatur, AL 35602
Work: (256) 353-7721
Fax: (256) 351-1316
sammydean@thompsontractor.com

International Director 2017

Mr. Tim Woody
Director of Environmental Services
City of Auburn
365-A N. Donahue Drive
Auburn, AL 36832
Work: (334) 501-3080
Fax: (334) 826-6827
twoody@auburnalabama.org

Director 2017

Ms. Cay Alby
Saiia Construction
4400 Lewisburg Road
Birmingham, AL 35207
Work: (205) 290-0400
calby@saiia.com

Director 2017

Mr. Eddie Blizzard
Scottsboro Solid Waste
27150 John T. Reid Parkway
Scottsboro, AL 3576
Work: (256) 599-4071
ewblizzard@scottsboro.org

Director 2017

Ms. Amber Hoffman
Environmental Manager
Republic Services
2730 Bryan Road
Dora, AL 35062
Work: (205) 255-3914
Fax: (205) 648-1010
ahoffman2@republicservices.com

Director 2017

Mr. Ladon Dansby
Managing Member
Alabama Dumpster Service
PO Box 279
Hope Hull, AL 36043
Work: (334) 288-1500
Fax: (334) 265-5636
ldansby@alabamadumpster.com

Director 2017

Mr. Mike Thornton
Landfill Manager
Coffee County Solid Waste
7733 Hwy 125
Elba, AL 36323
Work: (334) 897-6773
jthornton@co.coffee.al.us

Director 2017

Ms. Terri Graham
Development and Environmental Director - Baldwin County
15140 County Road 49
Summerdale, AL 36580
Work: (251) 972-6878
tgraham@baldwincountyal.gov


Advisor

Ms. Phyllis Mardis
AL Department of Health
P.H. Environmental Supervisor
201 Monroe Street, Ste. 1250
Montgomery, Alabama 36104
(334) 206-3950
Phyllis.Mardis@adph.state.al.us

Program Chair

Mr. David Koonce
Manager, Solid Waste, Street and Recycling
City of Florence
Post Office Box 98
Florence, AL 35631-0098
Work: (256) 760-6495
Fax: (256) 740-4665
dkoonce@florenceal.org

Advisor

Mr. Phil Davis
Alabama Department of Environmental Management
Post Office Box 301463
Montgomery, AL 36130
Work: (334) 271-7700
Fax: (334) 279-3050
pdd@adem.state.al.us

Advisor

Mr. Eric Sanderson
Alabama Department of Environmental Management
1400 Coliseum Boulevard
Montgomery, AL 36110-2059
Work: (334) 271-7755
Fax: (334) 279-3050
els@adem.state.al.us